Residency Bill Update

Published on Monday, June 23, 2014

NJEA Vice President Marie BlistanS-2169, a bill to exempt school employees in 10 counties from the New Jersey First Act, the state’s residency law, passed the Senate State Government Committee on June 19. The counties include Bergen, Hudson, Passaic, Essex, Sussex, Warren, Hunterdon, Mercer, Burlington, and Camden. While NJEA continues to strenuously advocate for a full repeal of the act, this is a step in the right direction. The bill is expected to move quickly through the Legislature; however, NJEA is urging members to contact their legislators and ask them to support the bill.

On June 19, NJEA Vice President Marie Blistan was interviewed by NJTV about the residency law and its impact on NJEA members and their families.

NJEA lobbyist Beth Schroeder Buonsante testified before the Senate State Government Committee. Read her testimony.

Bookmark and Share